Ton-up Shubman Gill Propels Punjab to Quarters; Mumbai Down Saurashtra

Shubman Gill celebrated his T20I call-up for the New Zealand tour in model, smashing his maiden century within the format as Punjab defeated Karnataka by 9 runs within the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy quarterfinals right here on Monday.

The opener batted until the final ball of the penultimate over and top-scored with a career-best 126 in Punjab’s 225 for 4.

In reply, the two-time champions and final season’s runners-up put up a combat earlier than being restricted for 216 for six. Punjab will face Himachal Pradesh within the first semi-final at Eden Gardens on Thursday.

Earlier, the 23-year-old Gill, who’s all set for a T20I debut within the upcoming New Zealand tour, made an enormous assertion.

T20 World Cup 2022: Full Protection | Schedule | Outcomes | Factors Desk | Gallery

Making full use of a reprieve by Karnataka glovesman Luvnith Sisodia on 34, Gill blazed his option to a 30-ball 50, after which accomplished the century in 49 balls.

Total, he smashed 11 fours and 9 sixes throughout a knock that was a mix of artistry and aggression.

Put in, Punjab had a shaky begin as they misplaced Abhishek Sharma and Prabhsimran Singh early, however thereafter it was all about Gill.

The teenager solid a 151-run partnership with Anmolpreet Singh (59 off 43b) as they reached 161 inside 16 overs.

Gill continued in the identical vein with Sanvir Singh giving him wonderful help with a brisk 27 not out from 13 balls.

Veteran Manish Pandey lifted Karnataka from 18/3 with a 29-ball 45, after which, Abhinav Manohar saved them within the hunt with a 29-ball 62 not out.

Manoj Bhandage slammed 25 off 9 balls, whereas Manohar and Krishnappa Gowtham (30 not out; 14b) introduced the equation all the way down to 38 from the final two overs.

However Siddarth Kaul and Harpreet Brar held their nerves to seal a win for Punjab.

Dhawan falls for 37 as Vidarbha knock out Delhi

Delhi fell quick by only one run in a difficult chase of 158 to be knocked out by Vidarbha in a second quarterfinal on the Jadavpur College Second Campus floor in Salt Lake.

It was Yash Thakur who was the architect of their win as he bowled an ideal remaining over to dismiss Lalit Yadav (17) and Lakhsay Thareja (4) in three balls to swing the match of their favour.

Vidarbha will tackle Mumbai within the second semi-final on the Eden.

Chasing 157, Delhi wanted 26 off the final two overs and managed 16 off veteran India pacer Umesh Yadav.

Additionally Learn | T20 World Cup Group 1 Semi-Last Situation: 5 Groups Nonetheless in Fray as Race For Final 4 Continues

Within the final over, Thakur bagged two wickets.

Earlier, Dhawan, who was appointed India ODI captain for the New Zealand tour, acquired off to a brisk begin as he together with Himmat Singh (27) placed on a 48-run stand.

However Singh turned Thakur’s first sufferer, whereas Dhawan was dismissed by Aditya Sarwate (2/16) within the ninth over as Vidarbha saved on taking wickets at common intervals.

Vidarbha scored 157 for 5 with skipper Askhay Wadkar main from the entrance in a 53-ball 63.

Bengal crash out, fail to defend 200 vs Himachal 

Bengal suffered a four-wicket loss to Himachal Pradesh in one other thrilling last-eight end.

Shahbaz Ahmed top-scored for Bengal in a 32-ball 59 to propel them to 199 for six.

In reply, Himachal’s Akash Vasisht slammed an unbeaten 76 off 42 balls, whereas Nikhil Gangta scored 50 off 37 deliveries to seal a last-ball win.

Mumbai down Saurashtra

Shreyas Iyer top-scored for Mumbai with a 30-ball 40 whereas Shivam Dube got here up with a 25 not out from 13 balls as Mumbai sealed a two-wicket win towards Saurashtra.

Prerak Mankad’s explosive 25-ball 61, studded with seven fours and three sixes, propelled Saurashtra to 166 for eight.

In reply, Mumbai misplaced two wickets contained in the powerplay and skipper Ajinkya Rahane additionally did not convert his begin. However Dube held on to finish the chase with three balls to spare.

Chetan Sakariya (4/33) and Kushang Patel (2/33) have been essentially the most profitable bowlers.

Transient scores: At Eden Gardens: Punjab 225/4; 20 overs (Shubman Gill 126, Anmolpreet Singh 59; Vidwath Kaverappa 3/44) b Karnataka 216/6; 20 overs (Abhinav Manohar 62 not out, Manish Pandey 45; Ramandeep Singh 2/26) by 9 runs.

Saurashtra 166/8; 20 overs (Prerak Mankad 61; Tushar Deshpande 3/37, Mohit Avashti 2/23) misplaced to Mumbai 168/8; 20 overs (Shreyas Iyer 40, Shivam Dube 25 not out; Chetan Sakariya 4/33, Kushang Patel 2/33) by two wickets.

At JU Second Campus: Vidarbha 157/5; 20 overs (Akshay Wadkar 63) b Delhi 156/6; 20 overs (Yash Dhull 39 not out, Shikhar Dhawan 37; Yash Thakur 4/29) by one run.

At Videocon Academy: Bengal 199/6; 20 overs (Shahbaz Ahmed 59; Kanwar Abhinay 4/47, Rishi Dhawan 2/40) misplaced to Himachal Pradesh 200/6; 20 overs (Akash Vasisht 76 not out, Nikhil Gangta 50; Ravi Kumar 2/29) by 4 wickets.

Semifinals line-up: Punjab v Himachal Pradesh; Vidarbha v Mumbai (Thursday at Eden Gardens).

Get the most recent Cricket Information, Schedule and Cricket Reside Scores right here

Leave a Reply