Saurashtra, Punjab, Vidarbha Enter Quarterfinals

Punjab, Vidarbha and Saurashtra recorded wins over their respective opponents to seal quarterfinal berths within the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20 event in Kolkata on Sunday.

Sheldon Jackson top-scored for Saurashtra with a 44-ball 64 (4×4, 4×6) as they overcame a late problem from Kerala to win by 9 runs and arrange a quarterfinal conflict in opposition to Mumbai.

Opening the batting, Indian Take a look at batter Cheteshwar Pujara departed for run a ball 11 (2×4) as Saurashtra misplaced two wickets within the Energy Play earlier than Jackson led the cost to take them to 183 for six.

Kerala too had a jittery begin however skipper Sanju Samson and Sachin Child saved them within the hunt in an entertaining 98-run partnership.

Samson slammed a 38-ball 59 (8×4) however he failed to complete off the chase, falling to Prerak Mankad (2/26) within the sixteenth over. Child remained unbeaten on 64 (47b; 6×4, 2×6) but it surely was not sufficient because the Kerala bowlers had their method.

Within the first match at Eden Gardens, wicketkeeper-batter Prabhsimran Singh and opener Abhishek Sharma slammed half-centuries as Punjab overcame a shaky begin defeat to Haryana by 49 runs that arrange their last-eight conflict in opposition to Karnataka.

Punjab misplaced their star Indian batter Shubman Gill (4) within the third over with Mohit Sharma giving Haryana an early breakthrough after they opted to area.

However thereafter Haryana struggled to make additional inroads as Sharma within the firm of Singh settled within the Energy Play and led them to 176 for seven.

Singh smashed 5 sixes and 5 fours en path to a 36-ball 64, whereas Sharma remained unbeaten on a 48-ball 50 (5×4, 1×6) in a 100-run partnership.

In reply, Haryana had been restricted to 172/9 as Punjab put up a disciplined bowling effort with medium pacer Baltej Singh main the best way in a advantageous spell of 4-1-20-3.

Nishant Sindhu waged a lone battle for Haryana in a 25-ball 42 however Siddharth Kaul (2/29) triggered the collapse earlier than Singh wreaked havoc taking two in two balls. Haryana went on to lose 5 wickets as well as of simply 4 runs to handle simply 127/9.

At Jadavpur College second campus floor, veteran pacer Umesh Yadav grabbed 3/27 from his 4 overs as Vidarbha put up a spirited bowling present defeat Chhattisgarh by 5 wickets. Vidarbha will now face Delhi within the quarterfinal.

Temporary Scores

At Eden Gardens: Punjab 176/7; 20 overs (Prabhismaran Singh 64, Abhishek Sharma 55 not out; Anshul Kamboj 3/25) beat Haryana 127/9; 20 overs (Nishant Sindhu 42; Baltej Singh 3/20, Siddharth Kaul 2/29, Mayank Markande 2/32) by 49 runs.

Saurashtra 183/6; 20 overs (Sheldon Jackson 64; KM Asif 3/33) beat Kerala 174/4; 20 overs (Sachin Child 64, Sanju Samson 59; Prerak Mankad 2/26) by 9 runs.

At JU Second Campus floor: Chhattisgarh 111/9; 20 overs (Harpreet Singh 27; Umesh Yadav 3/27, Yash Thakur 2/23) misplaced to Vidarbha 112/5; 18.4 overs (Sanjay Raghunath 63) by 5 wickets.


Karnataka v Punjab; Delhi v Vidarbha; Himachal Pradesh v Bengal; Mumbai v Saurashtra (all on Tuesday).

Get the newest Cricket Information, Schedule and Cricket Dwell Scores right here

Leave a Reply